Thursday, December 31, 2009

YSL & BENEFIT HAUL .... (",)


So I braved the icy, rainy weather and drove to the sales. It took approximitely 2 days to get parking (exaggeration) and I didnt actually buy anything that was on sale but it was all worth it. I am sooo happy with my purchases that I wanted to share them with you !

First of all I was pulled towards the Benefit counter. I don't think Benefit get enough credit because I love their products and the packaged is so retro and cute. Then I went to the YSL counter. Here is what I purchased.......

Benefit - Brows a-go-go

This was sorta an impulse buy but when I saw it I thought it looked like something I would use.
I have to be honest, I usually don't fill in my eyebrows so I am definitely going to mess around with this.




Benefit - Coralista Blush

I have been wanting this blush for so long so I am very excited to try this.









Benefit - Erase Paste

I picked up the wrong colour in this...boo hoo hoo so it has to be exchanged. I stupidly picked up fair but I am definitely a medium. I think I was just so excited to be shopping I wasn't concentrating!






Benefit - High Beam

I was really excited to try this product. I don't usually wear a highlighter so I'm looking forward to playing around with High Beam.







YSL - Faux Cils Mascara - No. 4

I blame Lorraine (thecurrentcustom) for my new found obsession with YSL. I'm addicted to bying their products. I have really wanted a purple  mascara so I decided to give this one a go.






YSL - Parisienne Perfume

This perfume smell yummy! It's so sweet and girly and I love it. This is my first YSL perfume ever so I am excited to wear it out and see how long it lasts.







So that's it for now! I was thinking of doing the "what's in my bag/purse" tag soon so stay tuned for that.

Mwah xx

Wednesday, December 30, 2009

WASHING HAIR - Tips & Tricks

 

  • If possible try not to wash hair daily. It obviously varies from person to person how long they can get away with not washing their hair, but the longer you leave between washes, the better it is because your natural oils nourish your hair. I would definitely recommend washing at least once a week.


  • If you are growing your hair I would recommend plaiting your hair at bedtime. This increases pressure on the roots and encourages growth. This should only be done if you have strong healthy hair though as brittle hair may crack.


  • Tangle Teezers are great brushes if you have knotty hair, like me. They remove knots without damaging the hair. 

Shampooing


  • Wet hair thoroughly.


  • Apply shampoo evenly.


  • Always shampoo twice. The first time is basically just getting all the hair wet you really need the second wash to clean your hair.


  • It is really important to rinse all the shampoo from your hair. Any shampoo left on your scalp may give you dry / flaky scalp

Greasy Oily Hair – when shampooing your hair just massage the scalp gently taking care not to move the scalp. If you massage too vigorously so that the scalp is moved you are activating the sebaceous gland which will produce oil and make your hair greasy.



Dry / Damaged Hair – Massage the scalp with some pressure, your aim is to activate the sebaceous gland as your hair needs the extra moisture.




Conditioning



Apply conditioner throughout your hair starting about an inch from the roots and concentrating on the ends. The hair nearest your scalp does not need any extra oil unless your hair is severely heat or colour damaged. Once the conditioner has been applied, lightly comb through your hair using your fingers. This gently detangles your hair. I leave my conditioner in for two to three minutes but if you have particularly oily hair I wouldn’t recommend this.



Again rinse thoroughly.




After Washing

  • Once all product has been removed from hair squeeze from root to end (i.e. catch your hair in a pony tail and squeeze moving down the pony tail to remove excess water). Never twist or tug the hair when wet as hair is more likely to snap / break at this stage.


  • What I usually do next is wrap my hair up loosely in a towel and leave for at lest ten minutes. The towel will soak up the excess moisture.


  • Then I take my comb and gently comb through my hair. Detangling the ends first and working my way up to the roots.


  • I prefer to leave my hair dry naturally (without any heat or products) as often as I can but if you have to use a hair dryer or straightener be sure to use a heat protector before any heat is applied to your hair.


SLS = Sodium Lauryl Sulfate.



There has been a lot of controversy lately about SLS in face and hair products. This product, which is used to make shampoo foam up, is apparently also used to degrease car engines. I have only researched a little into this and the views are very mixed but to be on the safe side. I try my best not to use any products that contain SLS. Allegedly when absorbed into the scalp or skin it can cause irritation, swelling, PMS problems or even Cancer. I am no expert on this and obviously everybody is different but I just prefer not to take any chances so I always use a shampoo and conditioner that do not contain SLS.



Monday, December 28, 2009

WHAT I GOT FROM SANTA ..... :)

Okay, so I got everything I asked for this year (except Michael Buble in my Christmas stocking *sigh*) unfortunately the Tall Classic Black Uggs my mum ordered from America have failed to arrive as of yet but I will post pics of them once they are delivered.


 
Anyway, without further ado!

Here's what I got from Santa .......


What girl doesn't want to wake up Christmas morning to that blue bag?? The excitement! I have wanted one of these for AGES so I was super excited to find the Tiffany Key to my Heart Pendant under the tree.

I don't usually wear chains/necklaces, I'm more of a lots of bracelets and big statement earrings sorta girl. 

Also necklaces just don't seem to look nice on me. The longer ones don't seem to sit right on me and if a chain is too tight around my neck, it makes me feel kinda claustraphobic. Am I the only one that has this problem?

According to a white witch I went to see I was strangled in a past life !?! lol

But I am going to try to wear this chain as much as I can because it is really pretty.




Next I got some lipsticks I have been wanting.

YSL - Tea Rose (148)

I heard about this colour from Lorraine (thecurrentcustom) and I have to say I LOVE it. The consistency is soooo smooth and creamy and it's a beautiful soft peachy nude colour and the packaging is as classy.


Mac - Saint Germain

I love this colour and I have to say I didn't think I would because I love the nude lip look and this is a total Barbie Pink. But it really is beautiful on and it smells devine. I love it but I think I will have to work up the courage to actually wear it :)


YSL - Lingerie Pink (7)

I HATE saying this because I love YSL but I am not loving this colour, I am actually giving this lipstick to my mum. Now I have seen this colour on other people and it's stunning so it's obviously just not for me (again I am more of a nude lip girl). It does smell devine though and has stunning packaging .....



I also got the obligitory vouchers, dvds, money and clothes.

I did get one more expensive present but I am going to do a whole other blog on that because it is a bit  controversial, so stay tuned ....

xxx

Sunday, December 27, 2009

PRODUCT RAVE

Confession time .......

I bite me nails, well I used to bite my nails til they literally bled. Gross, I know !!!!!

So I tried everything, EVERYTHING known to man (or woman). I tried the ucky tasting stuff, did that stop me? No, i'd just bite it off like a woman posessed! I got acrylic nails but I bit them off too .....

Then one cold blustery autumn day as I wondered through a chemist I found the product that changed my life forever! Okay maybe thats a bit dramatic, but my nails grew!

I must stop myself from rambling at this stage but isn't wondering around chemists a great way to pass the time. It's one of my hobbies, don't laugh! :P I love it because you never know what cosmetic that  treasures you'll find ....

Anywho ..... What is the product I hear you ask?

It's nothing fancy, no jiggery pokery lotion, no passed down through the years secret potion just plain old ......

Drum roll please ......

Rimmel Nail Rescue

Disappointed? Don't be because it actually works .....! Now it doesn't poison you when you try to bite your nails so you need to work with this product. Didn't your mammy ever tell ya that "if it's worth having, it's worth fighting for" ..... No actually that was Cheryl Cole..... but seriously, it strengthens your nails sooooo much you really won't want to bite them.

I have really strong long nails now but I still use this product every other day or as my base coat.




So if you are trying in vain to grow your nails or have brittle nails give this a go. It is definitely the reason my nails are so long and strong! Not bad for someone who used to bite her nails til they bled eh? xx

Friday, December 18, 2009

HOLIDAY WISHLIST !

Dear Santa,


Can I please have ........

Tall Black Ugg Boots and a Tiffany Key to My Heart Pendant.

Check your list, I have been a good girl all year !!!


Love,
Laura


P.S .... Can I please have Michael Buble in my Christmas Stocking ????

Thursday, December 17, 2009

NEW NAIL POLISH !

Hello my lovelies !

I have been shopping, mostly online, and decided to share with you. This is not boasting or bragging just sharing what I products I have bought and reviewing them ....

So I seem to have developed a very mild obsession with pink nail polish (as you will see below) and I have absolutely no idea why because everytime I wear pink nail polish at this time of the year it just feels wrong ......

Anyway, here are a few a have purchased and what I think of them x


Rimmel London - 60 Seconds - 640 Twinkle

I really love this colour BUT it seems to peel from my nails, which is very disappointing. Now it is super cheap but I thats no excuse. The pros are it dries really fast and it has these really cute silver sparkles or shimmers.


Barry M - 279 Bright Pink

I like this colour but nothing made it stand out from the other pink nail polishes I bought except maybe the price because it was very inexpensive. It is a good consistancy but I was expecting it to be a brighter pink then it swatched.






Nails Inc. - Portobello Market

I LOVE this colour and I have to say even though Nails Inc. polishes get alot of bad reviews I really like them. This is definitely one of my favourites that I purchased!






Essie - Punchy Pink

In theory this pink is a colour I would definitely go for so when I saw the bottle I was so excited and pictured myself never using another nail polish EVER again BUT ..... but ..... I dunno it just wasn't as nice as I expected. I much preferred Nails Inc. Hollywood from The Hills Collection but there is actually nothing wrong with this nail polish it's just not for me! Just so you know this is actually alot more neon pink then the pictures are showing up.






Avon - Nailwear Pro - Ruby Slippers

I ordered this nail polish off an avon book because it looked really gorgous. Really christmassy (is that even a word?). But when it arrived and I saw the bottle I was less then impressed. It looked cheap and well..... tacky! But I was in for a surprise because its stunning on .... There are silver sparkles running through it and if Christmas had a nail polish this would definitely be it!








Rimmel London - I (heart) Lasting Finish - 198 Azure

Okay, so I am having a love / hate relationship with this nail polish and I really can't make up my mind ...... Maybe tell me what you guys think? I love the bright blue colour and the fact that it's metallic but I'm not sure if these are things I am looking for in a nail polish?? confused.com







Nails Inc. - Shoreditch

Crappiest name ever Nails Inc ... makes me think of yucky-ness, but nice colour. I really like this one and I'm not 100% sure why. It's just a really nice pink.


Okay so have loads more Tags, Reviews and just rants coming up so please follow me and tell your friends .....

Mwah xx

TAG: HOLIDAY TRADITIONS

1. Favorite holiday destination?

Well because my mum and stepdad own a house in the Canary Islands in Spain we usually go there for Christmas. This is our first year in five years being in Ireland for the holidays. We have gone away for years and years so to be honest, even though having a traditional family Christmas is great, I am craving the sun in Spain.

My dream holiday destination would be Lapland in Finland, that would be amazing!


 
2. Any family traditions?

Well because we usually go to our house in Spain, we really don't have any traditions but this year we have planned to go out for dinner Christmas Eve and then go to our local pub for drinks and then Christmas day my mum is cooking and my nan and my uncle are going to be eating with us.

I have asked a few friends ever after dinner for drinks so maybe that can be a new tradition!

3. Favorite ornament of decoration?

I don't really have a favourite ornament but I do love white fairy lights.


4. What are you doing for the holidays?

I answered that above. Basically just spending time with family and friends.


5.Are you a late or early christmas shopper?

EARLY !! OMG so early, I am one of those annoying people that starts their Christmas shopping in September ..... I still always end up rushing around at the last minute though but I think that's part of the fun.


6. Who usually cooks holiday dinners?

My mum does the majority of the cooking, she makes the nicest dinners! Yummy .....!


7. Have you ever gone christmas caroling?

No, people don't usually do that in Ireland or at least where I am from but I think it's a cute idea.


8. Do you live where it snows?

No :-(  ...... Hopefully it will snow this year though because I think it's snowing in the U.K.


9. One thing that makes you happiest at christmas?

Night out with my girlies, shopping for pressies and fairy lights!


10. What do you want most for christmas?

I'm not gonna be corny and say something like world peace because obviously everybody wants that so I would like Ugg boots and thats it really. There are obviously loads of things that I would love but I'm not gonna be greedy  :-P

Oh and can I have Michael Buble in my Christmas stocking .... pretty please, lol.



So thats me finished the holiday tag and I tag everybody !!!!






AND THEY SAY ROMANCE IS DEAD ....!?!

Okay, so something happened to me on a date last week that I just had to write about.

Allow me to set the scene.

Nice restaurant, very good looking guy, yummy food, no awkward silences, an overall great first date and then he asks me this .......


Him: "So, how far do you go with a guy on the first date?"

Me: (uber naive and more then a tad gullible) "Like, as in how far would I travel?"

Him: (laughing) "Nooooo, like would you have sex or give the guy a blow job?"

Me: (choking on my chicken pesto) "Ermmmmmm ........."

Him: "Surely you have rules?"


I'm just gonna cut in here and say he was asking me this like it was the most normal thing in the world to discuss on a first date.


Me: "Rules?"


Cutting in again, yes I actually do have rules, well more guidelines really but I didn't really feel the need to spill them to this guy over our first dinner.


Him: "Yeah rules, like my friend gives head on the first date but no sex....."


At this point I almost choked again and to be honest I didn't know whether to cry or laugh. I mean is this what life has come to? Lay your cards on the table on a first date because there are plenty other girls willing to give it up if your not ..... Maybe I'm over reacting? But that's honestly the way it felt!!

Now I am no angel and I honestly don't pretend to be but seriously could this chat not have waited til he at least knew a little bit more about me? What happened to letting things just happen, this guy wanted a time table of what he was gonna get and when, lol.

Lets just say we never did make plans for a second date! 

Please feel free to leave comments!

x

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

NEW STUFF !!!




So I have been shopping, okay truth be told, I havent stopped shopping in the last few weeks ! I'm kinda addicted to ebay ....


So, I went to Pennys (Primark) over the weekend & I found the cutest shoes. I bought them in cream & black.They were only €21.99, bargain! They are probably not the best quality in the world but for that price I think they are worth it.



Next I bought these cute nail files that you can hang from your keyring... They were only two euro, I just thought they were a cute kinda novelty item and really handy too!





Still in Pennys, I picked out some comfy Christmas themed pajamas for only €5.00. Nice, warm and fleecy to keep me warm because it's sooooo cold now in Ireland. I also picked up this scarf for €3.00, I LOVE this colour. Its sort of a coral colour. I actually had this exact colour  before I lost  it! So I was excited when I saw them and just had to buy it !!





More Pennys ..... a lovely bracelet that only cost €3.00 and a beautiful pearl necklace that was also only €3.00. I have bought loats of cheap pearl necklaces lately but none of them seem to hang right on me, but I tried this one on and it sits nicely, so very happy with that!





I really needed a new phone. Now I usually say that when my phone is like ten minutes old, but this time I really actually needed one. My phone was over a year old and kept freezing up, so annoying! So I bought a new one, in Pink of course! I had a Samsumg Tocco and I was really happy with it so I decided to buy Samsung again. The Samsung Ping in Pink. The picture on the left is my old tattered phone and underneath is my new phone.





Then I went to Boots. And I bought these lovely purple earrings, so cute! And I also picked up some fake eye lashes. Eylure in Glamour, number 116. I love these eye lashes ...





Next I bought something that was recommended to me and thats Benefit "that gal" brightening face primer. I haven't tried  this product  yet but I ordered it from ebay and I'll let you guys know what it's like when I try it out!





More from ebay ..... these gorgous Lipsy earrings. Great for Christmas parties ... Very bling!


I got these bracelets from Accessorize online store and to be honest, even tho I like them and will definitely wear them, I was a little bit disappointed when i got them...They cost £19.95 plus £2.95 p+p and I dunno, T think I was just expecting them to be more striking for that price but hey they are still lovely.


Okay so basically that's all I got. I am reading Marian Keyes new book "The Brightest Star in the Sky" at the moment and even though I usually LOVE her books I'm finding it a little hard to get into .... hopefully it's a grower !


Anyway bye for now my lovelies ..... x

Monday, November 23, 2009

IT'S ALL ME, ME, ME, ME, ME ........

Hi everyone !



So this is my first blog so go easy on me ... lol. I've been meaning to do this for ages and I have finally plucked up the courage, blogging about your life is kinda a scary thought but anyway here I am.



So maybe just a little bit about me.....



Name: My real name is Laura but I am writing under the name mygirllollypop.



Age: 24



Where do I live: Ireland



What am I a lickle bit obsessed with atm: Christmas, Shopping, Scarfs, make-up, comfy pajamas, accessories, My new car, shoes (of course), My new phone, blogging (lol), Allie Crandell (she's definitely my girl crush!!), The City and The Hills obv - I miss Lauren tho :( .......



My fav singer: Lily Allen



My fav food: Chi chi chicken .... yum!



My fav drink: Alcoholic - definitely smirnoff ice or white wine, Non-alcoholic - any diet fizzy drinks.



My biggest fear: I have a few ...Spiders (yuck), getting cut by a razor (yes i am strange), burning alive and the dark ... See im just abig scaredy cat .. lol



Pets: Yes a cat called Dolly, she is soooooooo spoilt! Shes names after Dolly Parton.



My fav animal: Elephants .... dunno why just always thought they were cool.



Relationship Status: Single!






Okay so the plan is to start doing videos on youtube too soon and then take over the world ... JOKING obv !



Oh and just letting you know, this blog isn't gonna be about just one thing. I am just going to blog what I'm feeling, my experiences and talk about what pretty things I'm spending my money on ... but also maybe about serious issues, but in a fun way !






Please feel free to comment and ask questions !